My soul finds rest in God alone


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The other morning as I was reading my devotional. I started singing – softly: “My soul finds rest in God alone”

He only is my salvation. And on the cross, He bled and He died -that I might know Him forever and I will love him

forever. I kept singing this softly and the presence of God touched me. It was an awesome and beautiful presence

I thought to myself – He loves me – I want to stay here forever, by the stillness of your water.

Let me be with you this way – forever. Guide me Lord. I got up and the reality of the world creeps back in.

The phone rang – I  didn’t answer it- people were yelling outside. I want to stay with Him this way but I can’t

and I got sad and angry at the world. Then I remembered the peace that I felt and I wanted to write about it.

Sometimes I need to get away from my desk at home, to be productive, so I went to a coffee shop to write, but at the only place

I found  to sit, the sun was glaring through the window. So I moved and as I sat there, the music that day just wasn’t conducive to my writing my book, so I left.

There is no rest in the world. My soul finds rest in God alone.

Well, back to my book.  All I need is a little peace and quiet. Some day, nothing at all will distract me or demand my attention, and my book will be finished.

Life itself  is my greatest distraction, as I try to write my book about life. I don’t quite understand that.

This I do understand:  My soul finds rest in God alone.      Jeremiah 6:16

4 responses to “My soul finds rest in God alone

  1. Hey Mark,
    His Presence is your restful peace, not a place, but I totally understand what you mean by natural distractions everyday. You just wish the world would go away, so you can have quiet. Sometimes I just sit in my car by the bay so I can just get quiet before the Lord and hear Him.
    If daylight is waning and I need to spend time with him in quiet, I go sit in my car in the driveway and soak to some worship to quiet my soul down, then I can hear from him. You will most definitely get His book done, and it will be awesome, and God knows the perfect timing. You can’t do it without Him. It came with a cost, but think of the souls it will save when it is finished? Glory to God! I support you in prayer for this vision that the Lord put on your heart to carry out. The work that He has begun in you, He will complete it. Be encouraged my dear brother, it’s worth the wait. God Is Blessing you day by day. Count your blessings and realize His Goodness follows you day by day. Love you, Bro!

  2. Mark,
    That was great to read! I wish I was not slothful in spending time with God. I get so caught up in the worries of the day, just being in “survival” mode at times. In the past, when I took walks in the woods, listened to the quietness, soaked in the surroundings and breathed the fresh air…it was a moment to capture! God is everywhere yet just something about being alone, surrounded by his magnificent creation captures my heart.
    Thanks for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

